THE GUD STUFF

the gud stuff: midweek roundup Dec 12, 2012

gudstuffdec12

This is going to be my last mid week update for 2012. I wrap up my semester on Friday (what what!) and am heading out to visit a bunch of lovely friends in Quebec City, my grandmother in Montreal, some more wonderful friends in Ottawa and then heading on a warm beach-tastic vacation. So excited! I’ll be back bringing you weekly news updates/fun internet finds in the new year… unless this whole Dec, 21 2012 thing is real and the world is coming to an end (which if you read the paper every day like me, seems like the world is crumbling all around us)…. so… where was I? Oh yes, if that whole thing is correct then, well, it was a pleasure, hold tight and don’t let them see you cry. (them being the aliens coming to destroy us… gosh I’m in need of a break)

What happened this past week? Let’s see shall we?!

POLITICS

  • Public elementary schools in Ontario will be going on 1-day strikes.
  • I’m not sure where the F-35 deal stands right now… I think it’s scrapped as of today? Before the audit was released they said that the deal was not cancelled. Today they announced that the fighter jets would cost $45 billion over 42 years… so Ottawa is now looking for other options. Yupp, probably a good call O-town.
  • Remember last week I said there was fear of Syira using chemical warfare? Well, reports are new that the chemicals have been mixed and are ready to be used. What’s could possibly happen if they use this?
  • This was all over everywhere last week so you likely heard about it. A UK nurse from the hospital where Kate Middleton was being treated, who was involved in the Australian radio prank was found dead. I’m not going to link to anything… this is sad and I don’t like it… but… still… something to know I suppose?
  • The Government of Canada has given the ok for 2 foreign bids on Canadian energy firms. China’s CNOOC is to buy Nexen and Malaysian firm is to buy Progress. These deals are going to be good for the economy supposedly but I’m not sure how great they will be for us in the long run. Rumour on the street is, is that these companies will be able to get around environmental legislation quite easily. Harper say’s that this is not the beginning of a trend… that it is more of a ‘one off’ but if that’s the case why? Just so Canada can take a swig when playing Never Have I Ever?

BUSINESS

  • A monkey (yes, a monkey) was found running loose in a Toronto Ikea store. Not only was it found running around, it was decked out in a rocking winter jacket – fur and all. Little curious gangster monkey.

SPORTS

  • Speed Skater Mathieu Giroux has been taken off of Speed Skating Canada’s roster, though he won a gold medal at the 2010 games and is in top shape to make the Sochi team. Giroux has chosen to stay and train in Montreal in order to complete his studies (doctor of pharmacy degree). The problem is Canada’s long track team trains out of Calgary. I’m rooting for Mathieu!

INTERNET FINDS

  • This happened. Avril Lavigne did a Nickleback cover… yupp, it actually isn’t the worst thing I’ve ever heard. Dare I say I don’t mind it?
  • Schmidt’s workout video. A. Yes. B. It’s on. C. Let’s do this.
  • I love when Google does their annual year in review. Jolly good times.

And, I think I’ll leave it at that! Until next year friends! (unless you know… the whole world ending thing)

Leave a Reply

