MUSIC

Music Monday: Taste of Iceland (Ásgeir Trausti, Sóley and Apparat Organ Quartet)

In the Toronto area? Want to channel your inner hipster and see some bands your friends probably haven’t heard of?  I’ve got the thing for you! Ásgeir Trausti, Sóley Stefansdottir and Apparat Organ Quartet will be playing  2 shows next week thanks to A Taste of Iceland Toronto.

Image(6)

1. Iceland Airwaves Showcase, Friday, March 22, The Drake Hotel, $10, 19+

2. Reykjavik Calling, Saturday, March 23, The Hoxton, FREE, 19+

As my favourite word in any language is “Free” I will be attending the Saturday night show.

Ásgeir Trausti

I’m really excited to see this kid play. No, I don’t understand what he is singing, but just listen to that voice! Swoon!

Sóley

If you saw the Of Monsters and Men show in Toronto you might remember Sóley (she opened). Another pretty voice. Looking forward to hearing her tunes.

Apparat Organ Quartet

So, if I’m honest, these guys aren’t really my thing. Maybe I’ll change my opinion after seeing them live?

The shows are part of A Taste of Iceland Toronto by Iceland Naturally. There’s a variety of things happening throughout the festival including Icelandic Menu and Art Show at The Drake Hotel, Icelandic Film Festival and concerts. Find more information here.

Leave a Reply

