KNITTING STUFF

Traditional Icelandic Shawl

In November I had a lovely visit with Halldóra and Irina and they just so happened to bring a little gift with them from Lóa! A beautiful set of wool to make my own Hyrna, a traditional Icelandic shawl! I hadn’t been knitting for months and this was just the kick in the pants I needed to pick up my needles again. I made my way over to the Purple Purl  to pick up some addi Turbo needles (the best needles IMO) so I could get started.

Getting started

The beauty yarn

The wool is from Hespuhúsið in Hvanneyri where the Loa took me the last time I visited. The set she sent me contained 150 grams of beautifully plant-based dyed, Icelandic lamb-wool with a pattern in tow. I checked it out and you can find wool from Hespuhúsið on Etsy.

Knitting away

Knitting away

I knitted intensely for a couple solid weeks until it was time to cast-off. Once the shawl was off the needles I decided it was time to try blocking… truth be told, I had never blocked before. Look at all those lumps and bubbles, it was time I give it a try.

Cast-off

Cast-off

After giving the wool a good wash I set it out on a towel and pinned it in place, letting it dry and take form.

Blocking!

Blocking!

Boom. Look at that lump-less beauty!

Finished!

Post blocking!

And just like that it was time to rock the shawl.

Ta-dah!

Ta-dah!

I’m so delightfully happy with this and loving the colours. Now all I need is a broach to hold it together 🙂

5 thoughts on “Traditional Icelandic Shawl

  1. Just lovely, I can just see you with your own Spinning Wheel making
    your own Lopi thread, foot driven one of course!!!! First you need your
    own Carding tool….
    Gamli

  2. Pingback: Playback: Sept-Dec ’15 |

  3. I purchased a similar box set while in Iceland and am finally getting to making the same shawl! Inspiring post! 🙂 I am *almost* done!

Leave a Reply

